Series Talk

I’ve been thinking a lot about series lately, so I decided to make some lists about the ones on my mind, and ones I want to be held accountable for. I want to start brainstorm potential ways to build themes or books that could go together now that I’m trying to plan more cohesive TBRs and break out of my box. This is far from an all-inclusive list, but these are the ones currently living rent-free in my mind. I have lots of other series I want to try out but I’m not super enthused about them. I’ll do my best to include if the series are complete, still in publication, or concluding in next publication. I will be using the names of the series as a whole, so I apologize if those aren’t as familiar. I’ll include the covers of where I stand with the series. (And yes, I am fully exposing and dragging myself for being so behind on all of these, but I only just rejoined the book world. I’m doing my best to find out what’s worth it, cause series are a commitment. )

Series I Need to Finish

So these are the books that I see in my To-Reads that’s driving me crazy. I really want to be able to check of that box on the CAWPILE spreadsheet.

Red Queen, Victoria Aveyard

How many books: 4 novels 1 collection

Finished; Yes!

I’ve read three of the books, but haven’t read the conclusion. It’s one of those popular series that takes forever to borrow at the library. I might cave and listen to the audiobook on Scribd instead to avoid the wait time, but I’ve waited this long.

The Poppy War, R. F. Kuang

How many books: 3

Finished: Yes! (hardcover)

Oohhh, this has been one of my ongoing projects. I wanted to vlog the experience since I was really hyped for it and I was really impressed by Kuang’s scholarship. It’s a bit of an intense read so as much as I want read it I’m not sure when the right time to read it is. I’m also trying to wait for the paperback of The Burning God to come out this winter. Also as much as I love these US paperbacks, I am very salty I missed out on gorgeous Illumicrate exclusives TWICE! I hadn’t heard enough of it while it was on sale which was also when I fist got into IC, so I passed. Then with the restock, I didn’t end up winning the lottery since so many people wanted it. I’ve seen sets listed but I’m not about to pay that much. Because I had so hoped to get that set, I have kind of been avoiding it.

Sands of Arawiya, Hafsah Faizal

How many books: 2

Published: Yes!

I really loved Faizel’s writing style in We Hunt the Flame. I was so bummed to miss out on an exclusive but I only read WHTF this spring after the fact. I’m sure I’ll add it to my physical collection one day, but I’m sure I can make do with Libby in the meantime.

The Daevabad Trilogy, S. A. Chakraborty

How many books: 3

Published: Yes!

I read the first book a little bit ago. I was really intrigued by the world but I had a hard time doing this book as an ebook. I’m really curious what happens next, but I think I might need to see if I can do this as mixed media or grab a physical UK paperback set though I do keep going back and forth on which version I prefer.

The Traitor’s Game, Jennifer A. Neilsen

How many books: 3

Published: Yes!

My friend recommended this series and I had a lot of fun with it. I feel bad for starting this and not immediately continuing on like she did. Sorry! I just really want the full set without moving it! These books are so pretty and I can’t wait to see what happens with Kestra next. I do think that this series was fully published in 2020, but there are related series by the author.

Stalking Jack the Ripper, Kerri Maniscalco

How many books: 4 novels, 1 novella between books 3 and 4

Published: Yes!

I’ve mentioned this series several times. I had such a unique reading experience with this because I actually started with the second book, not realizing that it was an actual series instead of one-offs. The first three have been really cool and I love the characters. I’m a bit nervous about book 4 because I’ve heard it’s not as good. I think the H.H. Holmes plot is really fascinating and I want to read it alongside Erik Larson’s Devil in the White City. The Thomas novella is only available as an ebook, though.

The Cat Who… Lilian Jackson Braun

How many books: 29

Published: I think so? There’s something about an unpublished 30th book though.

This is really cute cozy mystery series about a man who solves mysteries with the help of two Siamese cats. My mom recommended it to me a long time ago, but I haven’t touched them in a while. There weren’t digital copies available to borrow and even with Mass Market or ebooks, it’d be a couple hundred dollars. I’ll probably see if I can give it a go once I’m settled in and have a local library to visit physically and start it over.

Series I’m Waiting for the Next Book to be Published

These are the series I’ve read which either just began or are waiting for the next book.

Legendborn, Tracy Deonn

(No cover or title release for #2)

How many books: 1 published, 1 anticipated 2022

Published: 1/? Debuted 2020

I absolutely adored Legendborn! I’ve read it a few times and had so much fun. There’s only the first book so far which just came out at the end of 2020, so I’m not sure how long the wait might be.

The Beautiful, Renee Ahdieh

How many books: 2 published, 1 scheduled release, 1 planned

Published: 2/4

I’ve read both books which are out now and eagerly awaiting for the conclusion in Book 3, The Righteous to come out late 2021 or early 2022. I’m also intrigued that this will be a quartet instead of a trilogy. Book 2 was a bit unexpected but I’m curious to see how this all works out.

The Gilded Wolves, Roshani Chokshi

How many books: 2 published, 1 scheduled

Published: 2/3

I really enjoy Chokshi’s writing and this world is so fascinating!!! I’m super excited for the third book to come out right around my birthday! I’m not sure if I’m ready for this to end. Nevertheless, I’ll be excited for whatever else she may have in mind after. I’m also thrilled for the perfect fall vibes this is giving off!

Once Upon a Broken Heart, Stephanie Garber

How many books: 1 scheduled

Published: No Debut 2021

Another favorite author releasing a new book around my birthday! I adored Caraval, so I was excited to hear about this one. This one is kinda a cheat because this will be the first book in the series. and so there’s no “next” book I’m technically waiting for. I can’t wait to see what happens! I’m also super unsure but I do think I prefer the black US cover. There’s also been rumors that it’ll be included with one of the subscription boxes, which makes me nervous. Too soon to tell though.

Series I Need to Pick Up

These are books I haven’t read but really want to. Most are going to be fairly obvious because they’re talked about quite a bit. There may be some I have plans to get to soon.

The Dark Hours, Cassandra Clare

How many books: 2, 1 planned

Published: 2/3

I keep finding excuses to not pick this up. I think part of it is because I want to be able to read the full series in one go. My sorority sister and I are scheming a full Shadowhunters chronological read which is also making me second guess if I should wait to pick it up until then. But another part of me is saying if I read it now, I can enjoy the tea goodies before moving and avoid that hassle in addition to knowing in advanced how emotionally wrecked I will be when the last book comes out in March 2022. I’ve been desperately dodging spoilers, which isn’t easy as a lot of BookTube and Bookstagram had Feels. I have the two books taunting me all month but again there’s a strong plague element in the story so I’m a bit reluctant to read it during a pandemic.

Kingdom of the Wicked, Kerri Maniscalco

How many books: 1 published, 1 scheduled

Published: 1/?

This is a new series by Maniscalco which just came out last fall. The sequel is planned to come up out fall 2021, and I don’t remember hearing how many books they plan to have. I’m really intrigued to see the Italian setting and it sounds so spooky!

Cassidy Blake, Victoria Schwab

How many books: 3

Published: Yes!

I’ve mentioned this series quite a bit as well. It seems really fascinating and has my favorite genre in three cities I loved visiting. I’m a bit worried it might be on the younger side for me as a middle grade and seeing some of the merch that came along with it. I’m still gonna give it a go.

The Scholomance, Naomi Novik

How many books: 1 published, 1 scheduled, 1 planned

Published: 1/3

I’ve heard mixed reviews on this, but I’m really intrigued by the dark academia genre. Plus, I a sucker for a great cover!

The Extraordinary Adventures of the Athena Club

How many books: 3

Published: Yes!

This has been getting a lot of support from my BookTube faves. It has a stunning cover and celebrates the great gothic literature. It checks a lot of boxes of what intrigues me when looking for a new read. This is also one I want to read physically but I’ll need to do some in-person analysis of whether to go hardcover or paperback.

Kingkiller Chronicles, Patrick Rothfuss

How many books: 2 novels, 2 novellas, 1 planned

Published: 2/3

Another book I’ve heard from a lot of different channels. Katie Colson recently got the 10th anniversary collector’s edition for her birthday aaaaaaand then my fingers slipped and a copy showed up at my doorstep. I’m also kinda loving that the summary didn’t give us much and I can’t remember what others have said other than it’s good.

Mistborn, Brandon Sanderson

How many books: technically 3 in the original trilogy, but it’s apparently extended up to 10 books?

Published: 6, 4 planned

Both Sanderson and his readers recommend this as a starting point for newcomers to his work, the genre, or are looking to transition from YA fantasy. I saw a lot of this when I worked at the bookstore since it was technically listed under YA which was my domain as a Lead. It also has this really cool premise of the villain having won the big battle and taking over. I’m a bit nervous about the ensemble aspect since that’s not I trope I enjoy. Another one I’m holding off on to read physically.

The Stormlight Archive, Brandon Sanderson

How many books: 10 novels, 4 novellas

Published: 4/10, 4 novellas

I’m really intrigued by this series since Peruse Project and Bookroast have been talking about them a lot lately. I know he’s pretty much the contemporary fantasy guy so I feel I would be remiss if I didn’t give this a try. It is definitely one of the more intimidating commitments I would have to make.

The Broken Earth, N. K. Jemison

How many books: 3

Published: Yes!

This is another adult fantasy series I’ve heard mentioned a lot. The cover is also just so stunning!

The Bromance Bookclub Lyssa Kay Adams

How many books: 3 published, 1 scheduled

Published: 3/4

This just sounds like a great idea. I couldn’t imagine something like this happening in real life. It goes against a lot of what we would expect from this rom-com style book. I’m particularly excited for book 3 which features a cat cafe!

From Blood and Ash, Jennifer L. Armentrout

How many books: 3 published, 1 scheduled, 2 planned

Published: 3/6

Obviously this series has been talked about a lot. I loved the covers and was excited when two subscription boxes announced special editions. The third book came out in spring 2021 but apparently there’s still plenty to come!

Series That I’m Uncertain Are for Me

The Diviners, Libba Bray

How many books: 4

Published: Yes!

So I’ve heard a lot of people really liked this series. I read the first book a long time ago but don’t remember having any strong feelings about it one way or another, so I’d probably need to restart. I have also heard the the conclusion is awful so I’m not sure if it’d be worth the effort needed.

Shadow of the Fox, Julie Kagawa

How many books: 3

Published: Yes!

I did like the Journey to the West vibes of this book. I was a bit unfairly harsh of how much of Japanese culture was brought into this fantasy world which I think wasn’t actually supposed to be Japan. I am still curious about what will happen so there’s still a chance I’ll pick it back up. These covers are also a very persuasive case to continue.

The Green Bones Saga, Lee Fonda

How many books: 2 published, 1 scheduled, 1 planned novella

Published: 2/3

I had a pretty decent time with Jade City for The Subtle Asian Book Club, but I did DNF the second book. It’s on my Second Chance list because it might have just a format issue.

Shades of Magic, V. E. Schwab

How many books: 3

Published: Yes!

I really didn’t end up connecting with this book, which was very disappointing. I had really hoped to get into more of Schwab’s work and I’ve heard good things about this series. I don’t know if I’ll change my mind but I’m also very borderline of if I even want to bring my stunning collector’s edition with me so probably a no for me.

Crescent City, Sarah J. Maas

(No cover details for book 2, House of Sky and Breath)

How many books: 1 published, 1 anticipated, 1 planned

Published: 1/3

So I had a fairly decent time reading this and I love how beautiful the book is physically. But just the first book felt like it was about 2-3 books itself. I gave the first book 3 stars, so it’s right on that borderline. I think the story felt pretty well-resolved at the end of book one and after ACOTR, I’m a bit nervous about what direction it will take. I’ll probably be convinced to continue on based on the cover and what I hear from BookTube.

A Court of Thorns and Roses, Sarah J. Maas

How many books: 4 novels, 1 novella, 2 planned

Published: 4/6

So I’ve heard people have really liked A Court of Silver Flames, but I really don’t like Nesta and don’t want her to be the main character. I’m not sure how long this will be drawn out but I’m fairly ambivalent about it. I’m also one of those who disapprove of the cover change and wouldn’t want to keep looking at it.

Series I’m Done With

These Violent Delights, Chloe Gong

How many books: 1 published, 1 scheduled 2021

Published: 1/2

So I was really upset by this book. I had been so excited to read it, but I was not a fan and it really triggers some gross out factor. I didn’t really like enough of the book to be invested in the sequel coming later this year even if the cover is stunning.

King of Scars, Leigh Bardugo

How many books: 2

Published: Yes!

So this was only a duology within the larger Grishaverse, but I really just didn’t enjoy it. It was another major let down for me. I’m not really interested in continuing on with the Grishaverse.

Magic of the Lost, C. L. Clark

How many books: 1 published

Published: 1/?

I got the debut as part of a book subscription and I ended up DNF-ing it. It was kinda hard to connect to. I was so disappointed because it was such a stunning edition.

The Founders Trilogy, Robert Jackson Bennett

How many books: 2 published, 1 planned

Published: 2/3

This had a really cool premise and I heard good things on BookTube, but it was another which just ended up creeping me out. I had really hoped to get to book 2 for reasons I can’t remember other than liking the title? But again, if the first book wasn’t even a 3 star, I’m not gonna force it.

Potential Combination Ideas

A lot of these books, I’m wanting to read the whole series in one go, particularly these high fantasy series. That might be a bit overwhelming as they’re quite dense in many senses.

Second Chances

Sands of Ariaywa and Daevabad Trilogy

The Poppy War, Shadow of the Fox

TBR Dice Game

I did just get a D-20 TBR game set up in a subscription box, so I could put those I need to wrap or start on the list and let fate decide?

Not a lot of ideas, but maybe I’ll brainstorm more as I plan future TBRs. Let me know if any of these are also on your list and you’re curious to hear about! I’d be open to suggestions as well, but there are some plans I have for a couple of these books that I don’t want to give away. Hope this was interesting enough for a random blog!

2 thoughts on “Series Talk

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started