October TBR

This is another rather hodge-podge TBR. Unfortunately, a lot of the books I’d been saving for October and spooky season are currently missing. (Epic moving disaster!) I have a lot of books I just got that I had hoped to read in September, so I feel good about carrying them over. They still have the proper Spooky Season vibes I want. I am focusing on my readalongs for this month and maybe working in some of the Orilium Novice Path prompts I didn’t complete so I made a few changes to that. Due to my current schedule of grad school and teaching, I will be taking a more “On My Radar” approach for now.

Readalongs

Sinister Sister Book Club

Heritage: Dwarf, Earthling, Elf, Human, Iltirian, Skaimorn

Elf: moon or stars on the cover or title

The Night Circus, Erin Morgenstern

Our October pick for the Sinister Sisters Book Club! I am so excited to pick this up for October. It’s one of my books from the Year-long TBR, so I am really hopeful I enjoy it.

Fairyloot August: Lovestruck

Province: Daerune, Darkmeadow, Irtheria, Kerador

Irtheria: read a book that features fae or elven characters

These Hallow Vows, Lexi Ryan

This one sounded really cool when I heard it announced by Fairyloot, and I was so happy to see the cover. It is super autumnal! Plus, I’m a sucker for fae stories in the fall.

Fairyloot September: Uprising

The Novice Path Entrance: Read a book with a map

This book just arrived the other day and I am intrigued. Out of respect for those who dislike spoilers, I will not say the specific title until the wrap up. I have read the author before, and liked the first book in the series but DNFed the second book, so we’ll see.

Our featured book of the month follows a girl who will risk everything to bring down the system in a kingdom divided by corruption. 

Fairyloot September Theme: UPRISING

Other Options

The Ashborn Tree: A book that keeps tempting you (at the top of your TBR)

From Blood and Ash, Jennifer L. Armentrout

I’ve heard this hyped so much on BookTube I feel so nervous picking it up! I also feel like this might need to be a dedicated series marathon reading weekend.

Ruins of the Skye: Read a books with ghosts/haunted houses, or other supernatural elements

The Year of the Witching, Alexis Henderson

I originally picked a different book for this, but since it was a subscription box, I was only anticipating what it might be. I’m less intrigued by what the book turned out to be and I’d really like to read this book in October since I’m hoping to go to Salem at some point this month.

Background: Wilding or Urban

Wilding: read a book largely set in a forest/outside

Beasts of Prey, Ayana Gray

So I switched this one up because it sounds really creepy and seems a better chance to fit the prompt. It’s about tracking down a threatening animal.

The Last Graduate, Naomi Novik

I just read A Deadly Education so I do want to continue on. It’s kind of low priority though.

The Ex Hex, Erin Sterling

This is another witchy book! This one is more of rom-com take so while it’s still interesting, it’s not as on brand.

One thought on “October TBR

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started